May We Dance Upon Their Graves

Incest Survivors, Spirituality and Ceremonies of Justice – the story of a woman living a rich, fulfilling life while waiting to dance on her sociopath father's grave.

Love is not a prize

I am whole
I am holy
I was born from pain, raised in pain but I overcame

I deserve all the love this world can offer
I deserve a beautiful life
And I will live it

I told her of my fears
showed her all the things I was afraid
would scare her off
believing they would not
for I am whole
and now I am afraid
they will

Somewhere inside is the little girl
who knows, feels believes that
her story makes her damaged goods
Dirty and unwanted

Why do I tell people this truth
knowing it is only where I have come from
what I have fought to restore my sacred self
I show them the dragon, slain
with pride
but then fear they only smell the rotten meat long hauled away

I am still trying to win love with brave deeds
when love is not a prize
I am still trying to prove myself worthy
when I always was.

3 comments on “Love is not a prize

  1. kate1975
    September 2, 2015

    I can relate. This is lovely, raw, courageous, and inspiring. I wish that I had written it.

    Good and healing thoughts to you.

    Kate

  2. Gini
    September 25, 2015

    Yes, I like this, and I can relate too. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 2, 2015 by in Creativity & Music, Relationships and Survivors and tagged , , .

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email automatically.

Join 155 other followers

Top Rated

Categories

SwordDanceWarrior on Twitter

