May We Dance Upon Their Graves

Incest Survivors, Spirituality and Ceremonies of Justice – the story of a woman living a rich, fulfilling life while waiting to dance on her sociopath father's grave.

Mothering her

I was reading Faith Allen’s excellent blog , specifically a post where she was responding to another person with dissociative identity disorder. She talked about self-nurturing, visualizing wrapping the younger self that holds a memory and feeling in a blanket, telling her it was not her fault. It brought tears to my eyes, sitting here, as I realized I had not reached out to that little girl within me who suffered this injury, that little girl who is me, but who sometimes feels like another individual, whose trust I need to win, whose secrets I often don’t know until  she tells me, and who I have a duty to protect and mother. I’ve done the self-mothering before, perhaps with this very same part of myself, and I sometimes forget how helpful it is.

Reading Faith’s blog, I find a lot of similarities between the strategies she and other survivors with DID use to heal and the ones I’ve used. Event the dialogues with alters, remind me of negotiating with and comforting my abused inner child. I think dissociation is a spectrum, and we’re all somewhere along it. I don’t believe I lose time, although my forgetfulness is pretty well noted.

I’m still feeling a lot of discomfort from my injured vulva/vagina. I’m not sure if it’s from current day, or a body memory from the rape or it’s aftermath. I do remember having this same burning pain as a child, although I was a lot older than the first memory. Great. While I know I was raped several times, I’m not sure I want the extra detail. However, this is her/my story and if it’s coming up now it’s because it needs to for me to be whole.

This is what I tell her now:

Little one, you did not do anything bad, and he was bad to hurt you. I’m sorry it hurts down there. I’ll do whatever I can to help it feel better. Mommy is very angry at him and I promise I will keep Daddy from hurting you ever again. You are beautiful and special and I love you. It’s okay now. You’re safe now. You have people who love you and would never hurt you. You were a good girl to tell me about it. You did the right thing. Your dad can’t ever hurt you again. You can relax. Go ahead and cry, I”m right here. I’ll make sure you’re safe.  Me and the Goddess are here.

4 comments on “Mothering her

  1. vickiinaz
    July 29, 2009

    Hello I am Vicki and I found you over at Faith Allen’s blog.
    I wanted you to know that this is a lovely post and I really loved reading what you say to your inner child.
    Have a lovely day.

  2. kate1975
    July 30, 2009

    Hello,

    Good and healing hugs with warm blankets to you both.

    Kate

    • sworddancewarrior
      July 30, 2009

      Not to worry folks, I know what I wrote was intense, but I’m all good. I’m just putting the pieces together, making sense of it, integrating. I’m mad as hopping hell at my father, but it’s just survivor business as usual, really.

  3. meredith
    June 10, 2010

    Great read, very cool site. I like the your approach.
    ~meredith~

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 27, 2009 by in Medical Care and Sexual Abuse Survivors, Sexual Abuse, Spirituality.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email automatically.

Join 153 other followers

Top Rated

Categories

SwordDanceWarrior on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

