May We Dance Upon Their Graves

Incest Survivors, Spirituality and Ceremonies of Justice – the story of a woman living a rich, fulfilling life while waiting to dance on her sociopath father's grave.

Good resource on myths around child sexual assault

http://www.leadershipcouncil.org/1/res/csa_myths.html

I’m also adding this to my Links  page.

4 comments on “Good resource on myths around child sexual assault

  1. mindparts
    July 13, 2009

    Thank you so much for posting these. It’s a good idea to remind ourselves of these. To be honest, this is scary to me. I tend to think my children are safe and wouldn’t experience anything I experienced. But lately I’ve been worried.

    The one myth that really resonates with me is the one about people being too quick to believe a child molester is guilty. This is not my experience at all. I was the one not believed.

    Myth 3 makes me feel a bit better. I know the risk of a one shot attack is lower than the risk of grooming and abuse. I can smell all the signs of this, so I would think I would be able to catch this with my children.

    Myth 7: I minimized, for years and years.

    I hope it’s okay, that I’m going to add this link to my blog.

    Paul

    • sworddancewarrior
      July 14, 2009

      I think the best way to keep kids safe is to love them and take good care of them. Child molesters tend to prefer children that have issues at home or are neglected, because they’re less likely to have watchful parental eyes. Anna Salter (who I wrote about earlier in the predators post) makes a point of attending all her children’s team sports practises, games and events and being actively involved in their lives so she can see who they are interacting with and how and intervene if someone takes an inappropriate interest.

      Yes, I think I could smell grooming too, and I have certainly minimized, although I don’t think I reported anything at all as a child (that’s minimizing, then, isn’t it?).
      Yes, of course it’s okay with me for you to add the link.

      SDW

  2. kate1975
    July 16, 2009

    Hi SWD,

    Thanks for this and for everything that you do on your blog. It all means so much to other survivors.

    Kate

  3. kerro
    July 21, 2009

    What Kate said. 😉

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 13, 2009 by in Sexual Abuse and tagged , .

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email automatically.

Join 153 other followers

Top Rated

Categories

SwordDanceWarrior on Twitter

