May We Dance Upon Their Graves

Incest Survivors, Spirituality and Ceremonies of Justice – the story of a woman living a rich, fulfilling life while waiting to dance on her sociopath father's grave.

The day before the pap

Yesterday I saw my therapist and we talked about the pap test appointment tomorrow. What’s different about this appointment is:

1) the medical professional will know I’m a survivor.
2) I’m planning to ask if I have scar tissue.
3) I’m planning to ask about all the wierd things I have going on with my vagina.

It feels incredibly vulnerable to do this this way, consciously, asking for the compassionate care I want, especially when I didn’t have any care that I remember for my vagina when I was assaulted as a child.

I have duly printed out my ‘survivor safety lecture’ pap test sheet and marked the appropriate boxes. I also have typed up all my questions, and the rationale behind them on a single sheet of paper so that if I can’t deal with asking verbally, I can just get her to read it.

At my therapists suggestion, I’m going to reserve the right not to go through with the exam if I don’t like the nurse or her responses, so the questions have a dual purpose. I get to see how she handles them. My therapist also offered me an emergency session on Thursday or Friday if I need one, an offer which brings tears to my eyes even now.

It was good to talk it over with my therapist, and more importantly cry it over, cry over the body of the 5 year old girl with the injured vagina, cry over the lifetime lack of anyone to ask questions about my injuries or to care about them. Cry about the shame and fear of judgement / condescension / freak out of a nurse or doctor knowing my history examining me.

So, I’m going to watch some nice, anethesizing tv or read my new book.

On the up side, I’m still meditating 8 minutes per day and still practising either singing or guitar daily. I also started a tai chi class with my wife yesterday. So in general, things are good.

Wish me luck.

5 comments on “The day before the pap

  1. kerro
    July 7, 2009

    (((SWD))) I will be will you in mind and spirit, if not in body – though I’d do that as well if we lived in the same hemisphere. It sounds like you’ve done great preparation with the checklist and talking to your therapist. Stay strong and tell the nurse to stop or back off if it gets too much. Good luck. Please let us know how you go.

  2. kate1975
    July 9, 2009

    Hi SDW,

    I’m sorry that I missed checking your blog and didn’t get to say goodluck in advance. I usually check in here twice a day, for some reason I missed this until you had already gone.

    You have done a lot of great work in advance and have a lot to be proud of. As usual, you were being a warrior for others as well.

    Good and healing thoughts to you.

    Kate

  3. Pingback: Spotlight « Coming Out of the Trees (excerpts from my therapy journal)

  4. Pingback: Warrior Schedules PAP Test « May We Dance Upon Their Graves

  5. Pingback: What I learned about health care and survivors (part 1) | May We Dance Upon Their Graves

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 7, 2009 by in Rites of passage, Sexual Abuse and tagged , , , , , , .

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email automatically.

Join 153 other followers

Top Rated

Categories

SwordDanceWarrior on Twitter

