May We Dance Upon Their Graves

Incest Survivors, Spirituality and Ceremonies of Justice – the story of a woman living a rich, fulfilling life while waiting to dance on her sociopath father's grave.

Cords and ties

Photocredit: Hamed Saber

Photocredit: Hamed Saber

My therapy session today was unexpectedly intense yesterday.

I’ve been giving myself a hard time lately about not being able to persevere.

In general, particularly with certain things like learning physical skills, if I meet resistance or difficulty, I have a lot of trouble continuing on in spite of it (except in certain thing, or things I know I can succeed at). Part of me thought that it is because I have a high IQ and there are lots of things that come easy to me, so I didn’t get any practice working through frustration. I also experience a lot of fatigue, and end up not being rested by even a 10 hour night’s sleep, which could be any number of physical things.

This isn’t entirely the story, I figured out today.

It IS that I didn’t have experience working through frustration, but not that I didn’t try as a kid, but that I was never allowed to win or see progress. My father was a perfectionist about other people’s work, and enjoyed setting impossible tasks for us kids. Actually, he just enjoyed dominating people, kids, his wife, whoever he could, forcing people to try and fail to do things that were hard, frustrating or impossible with fear and intimidation. He always had to win, even if you were right and he was wrong.  The penalty for not submitting was always the same for me – getting abused. For the  others I’m not sure what he used.

So no wonder I give up when things get hard, I’d been conditioned to do it.

Today in my therapy session, we worked with this. My therapist got me to find/remember a body posture that was expressive of being frustrated, overwhelmed and submitting because there was no way to win. I remembered being pinned down and helpless, and letting my arms release in submission.  Then she asked me to find a posture and words that were the opposite or antidote to that.

I ended up standing up in martial arts warding position, telling him to back off.  I told him no, cursed him out and in general felt like an angry adult amazon.

Then I had an intuition that there was something more going on. I looked for the energy level this was playing out on and let my therapist know that I was going to ‘try an energy thing’. She knows I’m Pagan and is supportive, thank Goddess.

The following is a Pagan thing. I visualize unhealthy (and sometimes healthy) connections to people as energetic cords. The cords are iether made up of my energy and run from me to the other person, like when I desperately want to convince someone of something or change them, or they are someone else’s energy and run from the other person to me, when that person wants to connect with or control me.

Good cords, in my belief system, form the energetic manifestation of intimacy between people and connection to the Earth. For instance, I always want to have a cord between me and the Earth, since that keeps me grounded, but would experience an energy drain trying to keep a cord between me and anyone else, and might be drained by someone maintaining a stale cord connected to me. Mothers, I’m told, appropriately have a cord between themselves and their infant till the child is up to a year old. However, in all other cases, cords are meant to be temporary connections, not enduring ones, and the approved method of psychic hygeine among witches who experience things this way is to get rid of all stale cords when you notice them. Stale cords are energetically draining, which might account for the fatigue. Whenever I remember this and de-cord, I feel a lot better.

Photocredit: Found Drama

Photocredit: Found Drama

To eject someone else’s cord is actually pretty easy with practice. It’s like taking hold of a carrot and pulling it out from the energetic soil of one’s body, and then making oneself inhospitable to it or sealing oneself up so it doesn’t take  root again. Generally cords attach or extrude at the chakras.  To pull in one’s own cord, I have to detach myself energetically from trying to change or influence the other person, or let go of keeping a connection with someone energetically after a moment of legitimate connection (positive or negative) has passed, then call that energy back to me. I find the biggest key to de-cording is to figure out which way the cord is running because it’s hard to detach if you don’t know which end is the one with the ‘plug’.

Today I discovered cords going both ways between me and my dad.

A cord stemming from me and attached to my father was me wanting his approval, probably because as a child not showing up on his negative radar was necessary for survival, and his criticism was a precursor to being abused. I had internalized his expectations, his definitions of the right way to be, in order to not stick out.  It was weird to discover I’d actually wanted his approval – that he’d set some standards I’d internalized about who I was to be. Combined with pressure from my mom to be high achieving no matter what was going on and I’m set up to have some pretty unrealistic self expectations. When expectations are too high or criticism too pervasive, now (and then) I just give up, since it was ineffective to fight him, and much safer to submit.  He himself was a real failure on just about every scale you could measure a man. All he really had was class privilege and gender privilege that he used to oppress his family. Once I realized that, I rejected his right to define who I am and pulled in that cord from my heart.

Another cord was his energy, running from him to me. He wanted my silence. His cord stretched from him to my sore tight throat. I told him I would not be silent for him, that I will tell anyone I want about what he did to me, that I will not keep his secrets. The cord disconnected from me and returned to him. My throat felt a lot better.

The last cord I felt at my forehead. To me, that area is associated with connecting psychically with the ancestors, spirits of the dead and other extra-sensory and psychic perceptions. That gave me the clue I needed to figure out, it was me reaching out psychically for  his death, and when I realized that, it felt true. I had been unconsciously reaching out so that I would know when he died, like some part of me is listening intently for that to happen. People often ‘just know’ when someone close to them dies. I don’t want to be connected to him in this way. It must have been draining me to do so.  I decided I would let go of listening for him to die, and instead ask my younger brother (who I’m still talking to) to call me immediately if he hears anything about my dad dying.

In all of these things I feel a lot of relief, and had more energy after the session. Could this have been part of the source of my fatigue?

Perhaps. I’m a firm believer of the “trust in God but tie your camel” philosophy. I’ve also started taking an iron supplement, looked into allergy resistant bedding and bought a book on meditation  which I did this morning for 8 minutes. It actually helped, I felt a bit calmer and less scattered.

3 comments on “Cords and ties

  1. kate1975
    June 3, 2009

    Hi SwordDanceWarrior,

    Your coping reactions to your father’s belligerent and abusive manner were how you coped. They are not surviving you very well now and you are dealing with them. Good for you. Way to go on realizing the ocnnections there. Big healing work.

    I believe in cords and aura clearing/cleansing as well. I agree with you, it does help and the results start immediately.

    I’m glad that you were able to do all the great healing work that you have been doing. It seems like everytime you post you are growing and healing by leaps and bounds. So great.

    Good and healing thoughts to you.

    Kate

  2. mmaaggnnaa
    June 4, 2009

    Wow! You really did some deep digging! I’m proud of you!

    I know exactly what you are talking about when you describes cords — it is easy for me to sense them, especially when they first attach (harder to sense if I’m the one doing the unhealthy attaching).

    Anyway, thanks for sharing your insights!

    – Marie (Coming Out of the Trees)
    http://mmaaggnnaa.wordpress.com/

  3. Pingback: Free your vulva and the rest will follow. | May We Dance Upon Their Graves

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email automatically.

Join 153 other followers

Top Rated

Categories

SwordDanceWarrior on Twitter

