May We Dance Upon Their Graves

Incest Survivors, Spirituality and Ceremonies of Justice – the story of a woman living a rich, fulfilling life while waiting to dance on her sociopath father's grave.

Learning to be here

I met a woman at the Pagan conference who presented on a topic I happened to have a book on that I’d read but didn’t really understand. However, I knew that she would find the book of interest so I brought it and gave it to her. She’d heard me sing, and in return gave me a book she’d written about the journey of the Bard in Celtic shamanism.  In the introduction of the book it suggests you might want to read one chapter at a time with a couple of weeks break in between to let it filter through and become part of  your dreams and work. I’ve decided to do that.

Photocredit: L. Brumm

Photocredit: L. Brumm

The first chapter was about that state of being connected to the sacred through the present moment. It’s like when you look up at a tree (as I often have) and feel it fill your visual field, your heart and your mind at once. In moments like that I feel like I am as grounded as the tree, like I am at peace. Or standing by the ocean and allowing it to fill me up, exchanging my grief with the flow of the water, thinking of nothing but the ocean. Her thesis is that these moments are the door through which we connect to the divine. I think she’s right.

So today I made sure to take a few instances of being fully in the moment, in nature. It was a beautiful day and for a few breaths I was connected. Less so than I would have thought, I felt a bit guilty about taking a break from activity, or more likely a little reluctant to settle into waters that might take me deeper than I felt I had time for.

Late in the day, I found out that a friend, a woman I’ve known for about 8 years, who follows the same tradition as I do, has died suddenly of cancer. In finding out and processing my shock and grief, I was able to be present and aware. Every moment is a sacred moment. Now, I feel at peace. She would, I think have certainly wanted to live a longer life, and had lots more to do. She leaves a wife who is no doubt devastated, and who we will need to find ways to support. However, I think she was a woman who enjoys new experiences, so wherever she is, I’m honestly sure she’s having a good time.

Photocredit: Denis Collette

Photocredit: Denis Collette

There is a song from my spiritual tradition that I sing when someone I care about dies.

“Weaver, weaver weave her thread, whole and strong into Your web.
Healer, Healer, heal this pain. In love may she return again.

We are dark, and we are bright. We are formed of Earth and light.
On the wheel of Life we spin, from birth to death and back again.

Weaver, Weaver, weave her thread, whole and strong into your web.
Healer, Healer, heal this pain. In love may she return again. ” – Starhawk

Blessed be, my friend.

2 comments on “Learning to be here

  1. kate1975
    May 23, 2009

    Hi SwordDanceWarrior,

    I’m sorry for the loss.

    It sounds like you are making some huge strides in your life.

    I love the song. Thank you for sharing it.

    Kate

  2. kate1975
    May 24, 2009

    Hi SwordDanceWarrior,

    I just wanted to say your blog is so beautiful, peaceful, and contemplative. Thank you for all that you do that is healing.

    Kate

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 22, 2009 by in Creativity & Music, Spirituality and tagged , , , .

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email automatically.

Join 153 other followers

Top Rated

Categories

SwordDanceWarrior on Twitter

