May We Dance Upon Their Graves

Incest Survivors, Spirituality and Ceremonies of Justice – the story of a woman living a rich, fulfilling life while waiting to dance on her sociopath father's grave.

Maiden

photo credit: Holl_and on Flickr

photo credit: Holl_and on Flickr

I’ve been following a blog called “Smelling God” – she’s a survivor who also seems to be taking a mystical approach to healing. It’s nice to see. Her god is probably not a regular dinner partner of any of mine, but that’s fine, with me anyhow.

Today I bought a small pot of mini daffodils on the way back home from an acupuncture appointment today. They are bright and the green of their leaves seems freshly minted.

The acupuncture is something I’ve meant to try for years. My wife was being very successfully treated for some nerve damage in her foot and I noticed that the clinic also does acupuncture for weight loss. The traditional Chinese medicine doctor looked at my tongue and took my pulses and told me I had excess ‘damp’, which apparently means I’m blocked up in the systems that process fluid and energetically. Since I started the treatment a little over a week ago, I’ve lost 15 pounds, which the doctor says is not unusual. More importantly, I feel less anxious and more energetic, and even my wife noticed I seem less stressed. My prayers for a reduction in anxiety seem to have been answered, and I’m experiencing a kind of springtime myself.

Photo credit: House n Baby on Flickr

Photo credit: House n Baby on Flickr

I had a dream last night where I was at a new job and trying to figure out what my duties were to be, and what the purpose of my new workplace was. In my dream I was taken to a supervisor who was arranging pots of spring flowers. She showed me the bulbs that were sprouting blooms, and pointed out how some were healthy and some were exposed as sickly when you sprayed them with a sharp burst of water from her spray bottle. Her task appeared to be to select the healthy ones and arrange them into potted arrangements.

I don’t know what the dream means exactly, but I’m willing to take a hint. Pay attention to Spring, Life and new growth. Embrace the hope of spring flowers and the Maiden goddess they represent.

A few weeks ago at that storytelling retreat, I made a sculpture on the theme of the Maiden, which turned out to be a welcome to Her that I hung outside my front door in welcome to Her. It seems She has arrived.

In more ancient times, I’m told the term ‘virgin’ meant a woman who had not yet given birth. I’m therefore a virgin, and will likely always be one. One of my favourite virgin goddesses, Artemis, is sometimes seen as a protectress of  children. I like to think She’s one of my allies in this journey.

Photo credit: Lush.i.ous

Photo credit: Lush.i.ous

Photo credit: CharlesFred on Flickr

Photo credit: CharlesFred on Flickr

3 comments on “Maiden

  1. Amy Jewell
    February 20, 2009

    This is such a sweet and gentle welcome to spring! I love your pictures, especially the one that was of the flowers that you bought…did you think of your dream when you were buying them or do you just always think about flowers?

    • sworddancewarrior
      February 20, 2009

      Yes, I bought them in honour of my dream. The pictures aren’t of the actual flowers I bought though, just ones that looked like the ones in my dream that I found under creative commons license on flickr.

  2. Pingback: Maiden Revisited « May We Dance Upon Their Graves

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 17, 2009 by in Sexual Abuse, Spirituality and tagged , , , , .

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email automatically.

Join 153 other followers

Top Rated

Categories

SwordDanceWarrior on Twitter

